It started with a gift for a friend…

In the gloomy crochet workshop I was wracking my brains trying to think of a gift I could make for a male friend, who was into awesome things like Lovecraft, cult film and board games. I searched far and wide. I looked in books. I explored the awesome depths of Ravelry.  I found this pattern  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/dice-bag-of-doom and was momentarily gutted I was a crocheter and couldn’t knit. I tried to forget about the bag…

But that night as I slept, I was plagued by dreams of crocheted tentacles and strange woolen creatures and I woke up knowing I would have to make something similar, even if it killed me.

That very day I began to crochet, merging a basic drawstring bag design from an old book, with the general design of the  bag of doom.  In a frenzy of needles and wool, I worked for two days to create the Cthulhu Dice Bag of Doom.  The recipient loved the gift (he was clearly overcome by the sinister Cult of Cthuluh as well) and I was pleased to have made someone happy.

Completed Cthulhu Bag of Doom

The obsession with this slimy creature should have stopped there.  Only, a few months later, it seemed that the bag had spawned a new creation, releasing it into the wilds of Warwick.  Beware!  The Cult of Cthulhu is everywhere.

Beware the spawn of Cthulhu!
