Link1

My partner is obsessed with video games and one cute character in particular…Link from the Legend Of Zelda games. This little guy was his request when I was stuck for a new project to make.

There are lots of patterns for Link available online but I couldn’t find any that I particularly liked.  Link has also had several incarnations so eventually I opted for Link from Wind Waker.  I learned a few new techniques but my favourite thing was using felt to make his hair and accessories.  I’ve always shied away from using felt extras as I’ve always felt it was somehow ‘cheating’ but thinking about how video game graphics look, in actual fact it helps to make them look more defined.

I also decided I wanted accessories that you can ‘pose’ and move around.  The shield has a little felt loop which enables you to do this.

linkacc

I’ve enjoyed making him so much that I’m looking forward to designing and making plenty of other video game characters.  Watch this space…

 Link2

