DSC_2070

Apologies for being so late with this one.  Firstly I went on honeymoon and then secondly, Powertex is VERY messy so as our house is small and rented, I had to wait for a dry day so I could do this outside.  It turns out that my little starter pack gives you a lot for your money so I ended up making two projects and I still have more powertex left!

This is project one.  It is pretty straightforward to do.

What you’ll need:

An attractive bottle.  I used a Japanese Umeshu bottle we brought back from Kyoto.

Plaster items/ fabric scraps/fabric flowers.  I wanted to use the flower motif in my project and had seen a youtube video where someone used fabric flowers with Powertex. I used fabric that had a lacy flower pattern and the plaster heart that came in my starter pack.

Plastic gloves.

Plastic plate or bowl for your Powertex.

Cling film. To cover the bottle with.  You wouldn’t need this if you were going to cover the whole bottle in Powertex.

Powertex. I used bronze.

Powertex pigment. I used gold.

Varnish

Brushes – a dry one for the pigment. One kept in water for the Powertex (otherwise your brush will harden)

Optional: wooden skewer. You can use this to move your material around without getting your fingers all stuck to it. I saw a youtube video where they did this and I found it worked well.

The first thing to do is cover your bottle in cling film.  This is to stop the Powertex splashing all over the bottle.

Next pour some Powertex into the plastic bowl.  Do this sparingly, as once it is out of the bottle, there is no pouring it back in.  As soon as it comes into contact with the air, it will start to stiffen.  (This also means you need to put the top back on the Powertex as soon as you’ve poured it.) Take your first piece of material and dip it in the Powertex until it is covered, then wipe off excess.  Wrap it around the neck of the bottle.

Repeat with other textures.

PicMonkey bottle1

To use your plaster items, paint Powertex on the reverse and apply to fabric that has already been covered in Powertex. Then paint Powertex over it.  To apply your fabric flower, treat it as you would any other fabric.  You may need to use your skewer here to fix it to the fabric on the bottle.

When applying your fabric, you want lots of folds as later on when you use your pigment you will be brushing it over these folds to highlight them.

picmonkey bottle2

The Powertex will start to harden quite quickly.  You have about an hour to play around with it.

Once it is touch dry, you can apply the pigment.  To do this you need to take a small blob of varnish and mix it with some of the pigment powder.  (You really do only need a small amount! It is surprising how far it spreads.)

Using a dry brush, sweep your now coloured varnish over the contours of the fabric.  It should give it a bit of a glow.

This is what mine looked like at this stage:

9

You could leave it at this.  However, I decided that perhaps having two colours might give it a bit more depth.  Not having another pigment, I used a red acrylic paint to highlight parts of it such as the flower and the heart.

Once dried, you can remove the cling film.  Here is the finished bottle:

DSC_2070

DSC_2069

I really enjoyed using Powertex.  It is easy to use and you can get good results even if you are not particularly arty like me.  I liked it so much that I did make a second *very geeky* project…but more of that on my next post.

