original

This just might be *the* geekiest craft I’ve done (and I’ve done plenty of Lovecraft crochet).

My husband has phases of going crazy obsessive on things.  Currently, all things Dune are in fashion in our house.  After watching the TV mini-series, the fan edit of David Lynch’s Dune and Children Of Dune on Blu Ray during the Summer, I decided to make a Dune inspired Powertex project.

The plaque is made using Bronze Powertex soaked fabric arranged on a plastic plate.  The plaster face was wrapped to make it look like a shawl. I used the elastic edges of an old skirt to make the ‘sandworms’ that are burrowing through the desert of Arrakis in the background and cut two circles of fabric for the two moons.

Once dried, I dry brushed the gold pigment onto it and of course, painted the character’s eyes bright blue to make her look like a Fremen Sayyadina (a wise woman that is native to the planet Arrakis).

This project was far more difficult to do than the decorative bottle, (and I think it shows) but just as enjoyable to make. Powertex might be one of the more expensive crafts I’ve tried this year but it is well worth it!

