I haven’t been very well these past couple of weeks which is why this one is a bit late.  You might remember me making a kawaii ice cream keyring out of felt back in June.  Well, I decided to have a go at my own felting this month.

If you watch youtube videos on felting, it looks easy.  DSC_2127

It’s not as easy as it looks.

What you need:

Felting needle

Felting wool in at least 3 colours

Sponge base (REALLY important so you don’t accidentally stab yourself.  This still happened anyway on occasion.)

A steady hand (see above)

So you take a piece of felting wool (which feels like fluff) and roll it into the general shape you want and then stab it with the needle repeatedly until the fibres start to knit together.  This is actually incredibly fun once you get into the flow of it.  Problem is it is quite fiddly to do and you do have to also consider the shaping and moulding of each piece as you go along, which looks a lot easier than it actually is.

I wanted to make a cat to begin with but it went horribly wrong so on the second attempt I ended up just making it up as I went along.

You can join pieces together by leaving the ends of the limbs fluffy and then attaching by stabbing the fluffy part to the main body.

DSC_2118

To add features to the face or body, take a tiny amount of fluff and stab into position until it is fixed.

I ended up with a very melancholy bear.

My verdict on this one is that whilst it was more challenging than it looks, it was still fun and I would try this craft again.

DSC_2126

